Condition Laws and regulations for Child Vehicle Seats

 

New child safety seat laws in Connecticut

Video taken from the channel: WTNH News8


 

New Car Seat Safety Laws | Connecticut Children’s

Video taken from the channel: Connecticut Children’s


 

CHILD CAR SEAT LAWS

Video taken from the channel: WMTW-TV


 

New York Becomes 10th State To Expand Child Safety Seat Law

Video taken from the channel: CBS New York


 

How To Follow UK Child Car Seat Rules

Video taken from the channel: Videojug


 

Washington updates car-seat law to boost child protections

Video taken from the channel: UW Medicine


 

CAR SEAT LAW

Video taken from the channel: KHON2 News


A rear facing car seat shall not be used in the front seat of a vehicle. A child 8 or older and weighing 60 pounds or more shall be restrained by an appropriate child restraint or seat belt. Children 4 or younger weighing less than 40 pounds shall use an approved child restraint in a student transportation vehicle. State car seat regulations require children and teens to be buckled in an appropriate child restraint based on their age, weight and height. However, only the car or booster seat weight and age restrictions for child restraints are taken into consideration by the law.

The following list explains how the laws operate in C. The Washington Child Passenger Restraint Law (RCW 46.61.687) requires the following: Children up to age 2 must ride in a rear-facing car seat. Children ages 2 to 4 must ride in a car seat with a harness (rear or forward-facing).

Children 4 years and older must ride in a car or booster seat until they are 4’9’’ in height. Louisiana child car seat laws are segmented by age to allow for children to be protected based on differing needs as they grow. Any driver transporting a child younger than 13 years old is required to utilize the appropriate child restraint system. Ohio’s child passenger safety law requires the following: Children less than 4 years old or 40 pounds must use a child safety seat meeting federal motor vehicle safety standards.

Children less than 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall must use a booster seat. Children ages 8-15 must use a child safety seat or safety belt. Realizing the crucial role that car seats play in child safety, Georgia lawmakers passed laws and regulations pertaining to their use. According to Georgia law: ALL children under the age of 8 whose height is less than 57 inches must ride in the backseat of a car. A child is safer in the back and farthest away from the force of an airbag.

New York’s Occupant Restraint laws require the following: Children up to the age of 4 must be properly restrained in a federally approved child safety seat that is attached to a vehicle by a seat belt or universal child restraint anchorage (LATCH) system. Effective November 1, 2019, all backseat passengers must be rear-facing until age 2.. Children less than age 4 but weighing more than 40.

Children age one (1) through age three (3), and weighing more than twenty (20) pounds, must be secured in a child safety seat in a forward facing position in the rear seat, if available, or according to the child safety restraint system or vehicle manufacturer’s instructions. Effective Jan. 1, 2019, Illinois law will require children under age 2 to be properly secured in a rear-facing child restraint system unless they weigh more than 40 pounds or are more than 40 inches tall.

Children must remain rear-facing until age 2. Colorado Child Passenger Safety Law All safety seats should be installed and fitted according to the manufacturers’ instructions and the vehicle owner’s manual.

List of related literature:

These laws also typically stipulate that the child can use a seatbelt assembly when they are 8 years of age; however, they are safer if they remain using the booster seat until they reach the intended height and weight, regardless of age.

“Assistive TechnologiesE-Book: Principles and Practice” by Albert M. Cook, Janice Miller Polgar, Pedro Encarnação
from Assistive TechnologiesE-Book: Principles and Practice
by Albert M. Cook, Janice Miller Polgar, Pedro Encarnação
Elsevier Health Sciences, 2019

However, with proper seating placement of the child within the car and usage of ageand size-appropriate car seats or booster seats, almost one-third of these deaths can be prevented, and injuries can be reduced by more than half (188–191).

“Brain Injury Medicine: Principles and Practice” by David B. Arciniegas, MD, M. Ross Bullock, MD, PHD, Douglas I. Katz, MD, Jeffrey S. Kreutzer, PHD, ABPP, Ross D. Zafonte, DO, Nathan D. Zasler, MD
from Brain Injury Medicine: Principles and Practice
by David B. Arciniegas, MD, M. Ross Bullock, MD, PHD, et. al.
Springer Publishing Company, 2012

All fifty states have laws requiring that children under age four be properly restrained in a child safety seat when a car is in motion; more and more states are requiring that everyone riding in the front seat be buckled up, and that children who need them use booster seats.

“Dr. Spock's Baby and Child Care, 9th Edition” by Benjamin Spock, M.D.
from Dr. Spock’s Baby and Child Care, 9th Edition
by Benjamin Spock, M.D.
Skyhorse, 2012

Ensure that all passengers have properly adjusted and fastened their safety belts, and that all children are secured in the appropriate child safety restraint (e.g., child safety seat or booster seat) and in compliance with state child-passenger safety laws.

“How to Drive: Driver Education Student Textbook15th Edition” by William E. Van Tassel, Ph.D.
from How to Drive: Driver Education Student Textbook15th Edition
by William E. Van Tassel, Ph.D.
AAA, 2020

Proper and consistent use of federally approved belt-positioned booster seats for children aged 4 to 7 years decreases the likelihood of child death and serious injury significantly (AAP, 2015a).

“Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span E-Book” by Carole Lium Edelman, Carol Lynn Mandle, Elizabeth C. Kudzma
from Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span E-Book
by Carole Lium Edelman, Carol Lynn Mandle, Elizabeth C. Kudzma
Elsevier Health Sciences, 2017

The law required children younger than age 4 to travel in an approved safety seat in the front seat of a vehicle or in either a safety seat or seatbelt in the back seat.

“Evidence-Based Public Health” by and Director of the Prevention Research Center Ross C. Brownson Professor of Epidemiology, Elizabeth A. Baker Associate Professor of Behavioral Science and Health Education, Terry L. Leet Assistant Professor of Epidemiology, Missouri Kathleen N. Gillespie Associate Professor of Health Management and Policy All at St.Louis University School of Public Health
from Evidence-Based Public Health
by and Director of the Prevention Research Center Ross C. Brownson Professor of Epidemiology, Elizabeth A. Baker Associate Professor of Behavioral Science and Health Education, et. al.
Oxford University Press, USA, 2002

Many states have extended their car seat laws to include children of booster seat age as well.

“Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set” by Robert M. Kliegman, MD, Bonita F. Stanton, MD, Joseph St. Geme, MD, Nina F Schor, MD, PhD
from Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set
by Robert M. Kliegman, MD, Bonita F. Stanton, MD, et. al.
Elsevier Health Sciences, 2015

Most states have laws that mandate use of safety seats until the child reaches 4 years of age or at least 40 pounds in weight.

“Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics E-Book: First South Asia Edition” by Karen Marcdante, Robert M. Kliegman, O P Misra, Shakuntala Prabhu, Surjit Singh
from Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics E-Book: First South Asia Edition
by Karen Marcdante, Robert M. Kliegman, et. al.
Elsevier Health Sciences, 2016

In New Mexico, infants under one year must be restrained in a rear-facing infant seat in the back seat, children aged one to four or weighing less than 40lb must use a child safety seat, and fiveand six-yearolds and kids weighing less than 60lb must use a booster seat.

“Lonely Planet Southwest USA” by Lonely Planet, Hugh McNaughtan, Carolyn McCarthy, Christopher Pitts, Benedict Walker
from Lonely Planet Southwest USA
by Lonely Planet, Hugh McNaughtan, et. al.
Lonely Planet Global Limited, 2018

2 Rationale: All children whose weight or height is above the forward-facing limit for their car safety seat should use a belt-positioning booster seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly, typically when they have reached 4 feet 9 inches in height and are between 8 and 12 years of age.

“Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination E-Book” by Linda Anne Silvestri
from Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination E-Book
by Linda Anne Silvestri
Elsevier Health Sciences, 2013

Oktay Kutluk

Kutluk Oktay, MD, FACOG is one of the world's foremost experts in fertility preservation as well as ovarian stimulation and in vitro fertilization for infertility treatments. He developed and performed the world's first ovarian transplantation procedures as well as pioneered new ovarian stimulation protocols for embryo and oocyte freezing for breast and endometrial cancer patients.

Mail: [email protected]
Telephone: +1 (877) 492-3666

Biography: https://medicine.yale.edu/profile/kutluk_oktay/
Bibliography: oktay_bibliography

View all posts

1 comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • As a driving instructor, I would like to share this video on my channel. I would like to inform parents and the general public as well. Can I use this video on my channel along with the written article. I will credit the source.